William Henry Midwood (active 1864 – 1882, English)


The Young MotherThe Young Mother

Come To DaddyCome To Daddy

A Calm SeaA Calm Sea

Planning The FuturePlanning The Future

In DisgraceIn Disgrace

The PotterThe Potter

DaydreamingDaydreaming

A Victorian FamilyA Victorian Family

Cottage InteriorCottage Interior

Feeding The BirdFeeding The Bird

An Interesting Story

Family Joy

Beg

The Sailor Musician

Card Castles

Evening Prayer

Mother And Children

A Reading Lesson

Fruit Picking

5 risposte a “William Henry Midwood (active 1864 – 1882, English)

  1. could you tell me more about William Henry Midwood’s DAYDREAMING shown on your site. I would be most grateful

    "Mi piace"

  2. Hello again,
    I have just been informed that the picture shown for DAYDREAMING is in fact the reverse image of William Henry Midwood’s original painting of 1866 which is called THE TIRED SEAMSTRESS.

    As I have a one of the versions mentioned previously, of this picture, I am not sure which way round is correct. Therefore, would you be so kind as to enlighten me further on the history of this picture and how it has come to be reversed with a name change??

    I would be grateful for your reply,

    Kind regards,
    Christine Sims

    "Mi piace"

    • As I said before we know almost nothing of these genre painters. Rarely there are catalogs with a complete list of their paintings. Sometimes the same painting is presented with different titles and it’s difficult to determine who is wrong. Personally I never met a Midwood’s painting called “The Tired Seamstress” (I always seen it as “Daydreaming”). Also on Google the only “Tired Seamstress” painting found is the one by the Swiss artist Angelo Trezzini.

      "Mi piace"

  3. cOULD YOU TELL ME IF YOUR IMAGE CAME FROM CHRISTIE’S OR SOTHEBY’S?

    "Mi piace"

Lascia un commento